

March 2010

Janet Paraskeva re-appointed as Chair, and Hilary Daniels and Sir Craig Reedie reappointed as Members, of the Olympic Lottery Distributor

Tessa Jowell, the Minister for the Olympics, has re-appointed Janet Paraskeva as Chair of the board of the Olympic Lottery Distributor. Her second term of appointment runs from 1 March 2010. She has also reappointed Hilary Daniels and Sir Craig Reedie as Board Members from 15 April 2010. The Distributor is expected to be wound up in 2013.

Janet Paraskeva

Janet has chaired the Olympic Lottery Distributor since 2006. She is the First Civil Service Commissioner, also since 2006, a non-executive Board member of the Serious Organised Crime Agency, and chairs the Child Maintenance and Enforcement Commission. Previously, she was Director for England of the National Lottery Charities Board, and was Chief Executive of the Law Society from 2000 until 2006. Earlier appointments included Chief Executive of the National Youth Agency and HM Inspector of Schools. She holds no other public appointments.

Hilary Daniels

Hilary joined the Olympic Lottery Distributor in 2006, and chairs its Audit Committee. She is a member of the Professional Oversight Board, and a Past President of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy. She was Chief Executive of West Norfolk Primary Care Trust from 2000 to 2006 and is currently Independent Member of East Northamptonshire Standards Board. Hilary became an Independent Member of the Professional Standards Board of the Institute of Legal Executives (ILEX) in October 2008. She holds no other public appointments.

Sir Craig Reedie

Sir Craig has been a Member of the Olympic Lottery Distributor Board since 2006, and chairs its Human Resources and Remuneration Committee. He has been a member of the International Olympic Committee since 1994, and was elected to its Executive Board in 2009. He is a Board Member of the London Organising Committee of the Olympic Games and Paralympic Games (LOCOG). He was Chairman of the British Olympic Association from 1992 until 2005, and remains a Director. He is also a Member of the Executive Committee and Foundation Board of the World Anti-Doping Agency. Sir Craig played badminton at national and international level from 1962 until 1970. He holds no other public appointments.



Background

The Olympic Lottery Distributor (OLD) is an independent body set up by Parliament (under the Horserace Betting & Olympic Lottery Act 2004) and uses money raised by the National Lottery to support the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games. The OLD will have £1,835m available during its lifetime, and these funds will help to ensure the successful delivery of the Games and the associated regeneration of the Lower Lea Valley.

The Chair receives £10,575 per annum on the understanding that she dedicates approximately 2 days per month to the work, plus expenses. Board members receive a daily allowance of £218 for each day worked, for a time commitment of approximately 8 days per year, plus expenses.

Appointments and re-appointments to the Board of the OLD are made by the Minister for the Olympics, and follow the OCPA Code of Practice. All public appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for defined political activity in the last five years (if any declared) to be made public. Janet Paraskeva, Hilary Daniels and Sir Craig Reedie have declared no such political activity.