

November 2010

Ed Vaizey, Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries has reappointed Simon Jervis, Professor David Ekserdjian, Dr Christopher Wright, and Dr Catherine Johns as members of the Reviewing Committee on the Export of Works of Art.

The appointments of Simon Jervis and Dr Christopher Wright will be for terms of 4 years from 10 April 2011 and 19 November 2010 respectively. This will be their second term.

The appointments of Professor David Ekserdjian and Dr Catherine Johns will be for terms of 2 years from 14 November 2010 and 18 February 2011 respectively. This will be their third term.

Biographical notes

Simon Jervis

Currently a Director and Trustee of The Burlington Magazine, Chairman of the Furniture History Society, Chairman of the Walpole Society and Chairman of the Leche Trust. He previously held the posts of Acting Keeper and then Curator of the Department of Furniture at the Victoria & Albert Museum, before becoming Director of the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge (1990 to 1995). He then served as Director of Historic Buildings at the National Trust (1995 to 2002). He is also an Honorary Vice President of the Society of Antiquaries of London, a Life Trustee and currently Chairman of the Trustees of Sir John Soane's Museum, and a member of the Advisory Council of the Art Fund.

Professor David Ekserdjian

Professor of the History of Art and Film, University of Leicester. He is an expert on Italian Renaissance paintings and drawings and the author of Correggio (1997) and Parmigianino (2006). Formerly a Fellow of Balliol College, Oxford (1983-86) and Corpus Christi College, Oxford (1987-91), he worked in the Old Master Paintings and Master Drawings departments at Christie's in London from 1991-1997, and, in addition, from 1992 was Head of European Sculpture and Works of Art Department there. He was editor of Apollo magazine from 1997-2004. He has organised and contributed to the catalogues of numerous exhibitions, including Old Master Paintings from the Thyssen-Bornemisza Collection, (Royal Academy 1988) and Andrea Mantegna (Royal Academy, London and Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, 1992). In 2004, he was made an Honorary Citizen of the town of Correggio. In September 2006, he became a Trustee of the National Gallery.



Dr Christopher Wright

Dr Christopher Wright joined the Department of Manuscripts, British Library, in 1974 and was Head of Manuscripts from 2003 until his retirement in October 2005. He is a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries (2002) and a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society (1982). His publications include *George III* (2005) and, as editor, *Sir Robert Cotton as Collector: Essays on an Early Stuart Courtier* (1997). From 1989 to 1999, he was editor of the *British Library Journal*. He served as a Trustee of the Sir Winston Churchill Archives Trust, Cambridge (2001 to 2005) and was on the Council of the Friends of the National Libraries (2003 to 2006). From August 2005 he has been a Trustee of 'The Handwriting of Italian Humanists'. In October 2005, he was appointed to the Acceptance in Lieu Panel of the Museums Libraries and Archives Council.

Dr Catherine Johns

Former curator of the Romano-British collections at the British Museum. She was trained in prehistoric and Roman Archaeology, and has published and lectured extensively, especially on Roman provincial art, jewellery and silver. Her publications include Sex or Symbol; erotic images of Greece and Rome (1982), The jewellery of Roman Britain (1996), Horses; History, Myth, Art (2006), Dogs; History, Myth, Art (2008), museum catalogues of Roman treasure finds, and more than a hundred articles in scholarly journals. She has served on the committees of the Society of Antiquaries, the Roman Society, and the British Archaeological Association, and is a former Chair of the Society of Jewellery Historians.

Background

The Reviewing Committee on the Export of Works of Art & Objects of Cultural Interest (RCEWA) is an independent body made up of experts in the arts including the fields of paintings, decorative arts, manuscripts and archaeology. It helps to advise the Department for Culture, Media and Sport on the export of cultural objects.

RCEWA members give their services on an honorary basis. However, reasonable expenses incurred by RCEWA members carrying out their duties can be claimed.

These reappointments have been made in accordance with the OCPA Code of Practice. Appointments and reappointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.

The other members of the Reviewing Committee are The Rt Hon Lord Inglewood, Johnny Van Haeften, Pamela Robertson and Philippa Glanville.